TheConstantWay

Tourney recap time! This was both the first Judgement tourney I've played in and the first miniatures tournament I've traveled for, so I figured I'd share my experience.

I decided to head on down to Castle of Games in Springfield, Oregon, for the 5’s tournament Alex Najdek and his crew were putting on. It ended up being a 3-round, 8-person event, played on Scorched Earth maps 2-4.

A quick introduction, or "Who’s this jerk?":

I’ve been playing Judgement for 7 months, with a growing group of folks up around the Seattle, WA area. We’ve played a split of 3’s and 5’s - slightly more 3’s - but we’re starting to tip over into 5’s more regularly. I played Protectorate of Menoth and dabbled in Circle Orboros in Warmahordes casually before getting into Judgement, because the models and rules are sweet, and I don’t have to paint five dozen models to play painted. I don’t consider myself a terribly competitive player, but I enjoy learning and being knowledgeable about my hobbies, which, aside from Judgement, includes craft beer and homebrewing (it’s not a problem, it’s a hobby!).

The warband I ended up deciding to bring was:

Doenrakkar, Zhonyja, Brok, Viktor, Haksa, Gendris, Kruul

After getting thrashed in the Vassal league, I decided to crutch on the heroes I was most familiar with for the tournament: the Don, Zhonyja, Haksa, and Gendris. Brok also got to come along because he doesn’t need a lot of fate, he’s fills the “tankbuster” aggressor slot if Zhonyja gets banned (as she often does), and I had played him a fair amount since my Zhonyja often gets banned. Haksa and Gendris are servicable off-tanks in the event Don gets banned, and bring their own flavors of valuable utility depending on what I’m facing.